Legislators of the Year: Stevens, French, Wielechowski!

Congratulations to AYEA’s Legislators of the Year:

Sen. Gary Stevens –  For his leadership in the bipartisan coalition, his support of the coastal zone management program, as well as his strong commitment to education.

Sen. Hollis French - For his commitment to environmental conservation, especially for his sponsorship of SB 152 to provide legislative oversight to large-scale sulfide mining in the Bristol Bay Fisheries Reserve, as well as his sponsorship of SB 3 to increase funding for school meals in Alaska.

Sen. Bill Wielechowski – For his work protecting environmental and human health from toxic chemicals through his sponsorship of SB 27, and for his sponsorship of SB 3 and his commitment to increasing funding for school meals in Alaska.

Watch the video of the legislator award presentations at our Wild Salmon BBQ in Juneau!

The recipients of AYEA’s Legislator of the Year award are chosen each year by the Youth Trainers for the Civics & Conservation Summit. The 2012 Youth Trainers were Charli Duke (Dillingham), Emily Brease (Healy) Hunter Doan (Seward), and Tiaya Waggoner (Ninilchik).

Previous post:

Next post: